New to the forum, and some other stuff :-)

This forum is for general discussions and questions, including Collectors Corner and anything to do with Computer chess.

Moderators: Harvey Williamson, Steve B, Watchman

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the fen tag before the upgrade.
luis

New to the forum, and some other stuff :-)

Post by luis »

Hi guys, I registered today at the forum after lurking on and off for some months.

I'm a beginner chess player (from Italy), I discovered the game when I was a little boy but didn't have anybody to play with and lost interest. Six months ago started to look at the game again and I liked it so much I started play with my computer.

And then... I re-discovered the old chess computers you collect and talk about in this forum. I probably saw a couple in a fancy store in the 80s, and I was fascinated at the idea of a computer playing chess.
But nothing happened then.

Now I'm a hobbyist programmer (not chess related), I also somewhat play with electronics (just to learn about it) and computer chess is a nice merge of the two... and moreover it's chess ! All these together for some reason reignited my interested, and I bought some old chess computers on ebay in the last months.

Currently I have:

Fidelity Par Excellence
Bought it because I remember playing Sargon 2 on my VIC 20
I like how it tactically demolish me.
I like how the leds are very visible, round and flat instead of the classical dome shape. Awesome.

Mephisto Milano (with Nigel Short EPROM)
Bought because it's and Ed Schroder program.
I like how it plays positional chess and sometimes it plays like a human.
I like the fact it announces the opening used.
Also defends very well.
I dislike the extremely stupid idea of having to press "memory" before turning it off to keep the current position and settings in memory. It's beyond absurdity.
I dislike the fact you have dismantle the case to replace the 2032 battery.