Question/Request: Filter database by playing moves

Get your specific HIARCS/Junior support questions answered here as well as up-to-the-minute news!

Moderators: Watchman, Mark Uniacke, mrudolf

oopsclassic

Question/Request: Filter database by playing moves

Post by oopsclassic »

Hello,

I'm still new to HCE Pro, and I haven't been able to figure out how to filter a database by playing moves on the board. Does anyone know if that's possible?

Thanks in advance,
Andy
mattchess

Re: Question/Request: Filter database by playing moves

Post by mattchess »

Choose View-->Tree Explorer and then in that window you can select the database you want to get results from. In that window there is an "explore games" button that looks like a folder. Click that and it opens a window that will show you the games from the database with that position. If you apply a filter on the database tab (like a specific player) you can also apply the filter on the tree explorer by clicking the database icon to toggle it to the database filter (and click it again to toggle back to unfiltered results).

I generally use the tree explorer when I am in my "workbase" database and make moves on the board there.
oopsclassic

Post by oopsclassic »

Thanks mattchess,

That's helpful, but when I have the "show games from that position" window open I can't make more moves to filter the list more. It's a bit awkward to have to keep opening and closing that window every time I make a move :)

I'll keep trying to find a way!

Thanks again,
Andy
mrudolf
HCE Developer

Post by mrudolf »

oopsclassic wrote: Sun Apr 10, 2022 2:37 pm That's helpful, but when I have the "show games from that position" window open I can't make more moves to filter the list more. It's a bit awkward to have to keep opening and closing that window every time I make a move :)
Can you describe, what exactly do you want to achieve? Do you want the the player names? The moves?
oopsclassic

Post by oopsclassic »