Mephisto Monte Carlo Fault

This forum is for general discussions and questions, including Collectors Corner and anything to do with Computer chess.

Moderators: Harvey Williamson, Steve B, Watchman

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the fen tag before the upgrade.
X__Gandalf__X

Mephisto Monte Carlo Fault

Post by X__Gandalf__X »

Bought this on EBay many years ago.
Great condition. but with a minor fault from day 1.
The problem is with the h file.
The h1 light stays on, and when a move is made by the computer, the correct lights work ok, but in addition, another h light comes on.
Example - I move h2h4. Computer responds h7h5. Correct lights come on, along with h1 (constantly on) and h5 (which goes off when I make the move).
What do you think is likely to be the fault? Do I put up with it or attempt a repair? I have very little experience of such repairs.
Berger

Re: Mephisto Monte Carlo Fault

Post by Berger »

Hello,

What you are explaining may be due to various faults in the sensory board. But the first thing to rule out is the failure of the magnetic sensor (reed switch) of H1. If you say that the LED in that square always stays on, why not think that it is as if there were no piece on it, i.e. that the reed switch in that square could be faulty (contacts open despite the magnet on it). But to repair this you need to have a minimum knowledge of electronics and of course the right tools.

Anyway, in Monte Carlo if the H1 sensor is faulty, and therefore it is as if the Rook is not in place, you can make the first move of white and black, but you would not be able to continue playing. If this is not the case, the problem could be on the H column but somewhere else. You would need a multimeter, soldering iron, etc. to check that column: sensors, LEDs, solders, jumpers... as being a matrix they share a circuit.

Best,
Gerardo
mychess

Post by mychess »

Hello,

Two ideas:

- can you switch to position setting mode?